Change the world

Research Chair: HIV & AIDS in Education

The HIV and AIDS Education Community of Practice in Higher Education Institutions was established and launched in September 2010 during a National Symposium hosted by the HIV and AIDS Education Research Chair in the Faculty of Education (Nelson Mandela University) and the Higher Education HIV and AIDS Programme (HEAIDS), at Nelson Mandela University.


In accordance with the principles guiding a community of practice, the HIV and AIDS Education Community of Practice provides an opportunity for Education experts working in Higher Education to collaborate, network, share knowledge and provide collective suggestions on issues related to HIV and AIDS teaching, learning and research.

The objectives of the HIV and AIDS Education Community of Practice are to:

  • share best practices on strategies for incorporation of HIV and AIDS related education into the teacher education curricula; and to
  • provide mutual support to members engaged in teaching and research in HIV and AIDS and Teacher Education.


Membership is open to all South African Higher Education Institutions who have Education Faculties or departments or include teacher education in their work. Deans of Education Faculties are to nominate Faculty members to the HIV and AIDS Education Community of Practice.

Steering Committee (2014- 2016)

Prof Naydene de Lange (Nelson Mandela University) (Chair); Prof Relebohile Moletsane (UKZN); Prof Lesley Wood (NWU); Prof Mischeck Ndebele (WITS); Dr Dipane Hlalele (UFS); and Prof Peggy Siyakwazi (DUT), Prof ClaudiaMitchell (McGill, co-opted member) with Managa Pillay (HEAIDS)

Steering Committee (2010- 2013)

Prof Naydene de Lange (Chair), Prof Claudia Mitchell, Prof Relebohile Moletsane, Prof Linda Theron, Prof Lesley Wood and Dr Jean Stuart, with Dr Ramneek Ahluwalia (Head: HEAIDS programme).